52 Weeks of Photos

Happy 2013! I am happy to see 2012 go and welcome 2013 with open arms. It’s not that all of 2012 was awful, but it had its pretty terrible moments. (See my husband’s post about it for details if you’d like). Anyways, like I said, I am glad it is a new year. 

I think most photographers like to start a 365 photo-a-day blog, I thought about doing one last year but knew I would be too busy to stick to it. However, this year I would like to attempt to do a weekly one. 🙂 The photos I’ll take will either be with my DSLR, point & shoot, or my iPhone – it all depends on what I have on me at the time when inspiration strikes! When my iPhone is used for it, I want to make it a point to NOT use Instagram. I have several alternative apps ready to be used: Luminance, Vintique, Camera+, Diptic, Tadaa, and Wood Camera. I will make a note in the posting which app was used. 

I’d like to start off with a photo I took while in Salem, MA. earlier this week:

Image

This photo was taken in the old Salem Burying Point – which is right next to the Salem Witch Trials Memorial – and dates back to 1637, making it the oldest burial ground in the city. I have always loved the history of Salem, and the saga of the witch trials. The last time Shawn and I were in that cemetery together was during Halloween night of 2008, also the same night we realized we should get married. So, for obvious reasons, it was pretty nice to begin the new year in Salem.

Taken with iPhone 5 and ran it through the Wood Camera app. 

7 responses to “52 Weeks of Photos

  1. Great photo!!! And a great reason to be in Salem at the beginning of the New Year! I am so jealous! I’ve always had a thing for Salem and often dreamed of living there. Glad you’re doing this challenge. I’ll keep an eye out for your next few posts! 🙂

    • Thanks Nadia! I just followed u back! did not realize before that u were here on WordPress! Salem is a great little town. I have always loved it there. You should absolutely try to visit. If by chance you happen to do so, aim for going in the fall when the leaves are changing color! 🙂 I hope all is going well with u.

      • I bet it is gorgeous in the autumn! I will definitely aim for fall plus it must be fun to go around Halloween time! I am doing well, thanks! I’m getting ready to leave for England in March for a few weeks and then heading to Holland for a few months on a bit of a life sabbatical/ inspirational journey. 🙂 Thanks for following me back!

  2. it really is fun to go during Halloween! it’s a huge party! England + Holland!? that’s awesome! i’m jealous 🙂 have a wonderful time! And u better take lots of photos – i know u will! haha. I enjoyed London alot. Holland is one i have not been to! Somehow i think Holland is totally forgotten about sometimes?! Glad u have this opportunity. 🙂

  3. I think I will make it a point to visit Salem this Halloween! 😀 I agree about Holland being overlooked often by tourists and travelers. Spending three months there will definitely yield tons of great photos! I’m taking my Nikon D3100, my iPhone and my Balda Baldina (if I can find where to get it cleaned before I go) so I can shoot some film! 😀 I’m also excited about England, of course! I’ll be going to London, Birmingham, Stratford-on-Avon and Oxford.

  4. 3 months?! Nice!! I had to google what a Balda was! haha. that looks pretty cool. With those 3 cameras, you will be all set!

  5. 😀 I think I will! I may even take my little Canon PowerShot A510 with me (I almost forgot all about it). The Balda belonged to my grandfather and is from the late 1950s. I have know idea how to use it, the meter he used to use is missing but I think if I play around with it enough I’ll figure out the exposure without having to use a meter and it has no flash so daytime shots only (I couldn’t find the flash mount at my grandmother’s house–I barely rescued the camera). I think in 3 months I can get some supreme shots!

Leave a Reply

