A Bright Idea

If you have been doing photography for quite some time, chances are you own some film cameras, but now since digital is the way to go, those film cameras are probably spending more time in the closet or on the shelf than actually in your hands, shooting. But you probably don’t want to part with them. Maybe they have sentimental value for you, or maybe you plan on shooting a roll of film one of these days, or maybe you’re trying to find some other use for them.  Photographer Jason Hull has a nifty idea: he takes old cameras and transforms them into night-lights.

On his Flickr set, he states: “I’m converting a few old cameras from the 50’s & 60’s into nightlights. I’m not modifying cameras if they are in pristine condition or if they’re rare, I’d rather they stay usable as cameras in those cases. The ones I’ve chosen are lightweight plastic, produced in huge numbers and easily found for sale at flea markets/ garage sales/ eBay.”

How awesomely appropriate are these for us camera geeks? I could see myself putting these in my future kid’s bedroom. Also makes me want to dust off some of my old cameras and see what kind of other useful household item I can turn it into. Which brings me to the best part of this post – yes, saving the best for last! – Jason Hull was kind enough to post a step-by-step tutorial on how to do this yourself. Check it out here: on Instructables.

[PetaPixel]

Leave a Reply

